One Couple + Two Dogs = Our Waldo Bungie

The Five Stages of “Good Grief”

February 7th, 2012 | Posted by Emily in Doggies! | Fostering. | Lucy Lou | Overly dramatic | Super serious.

I have been told by several wise people that the best way to heal after a traumatic experience is to start laughing again. Obviously, it will take a long time for Jess and Brian to heal after losing their beloved Knox, but today’s post is an effort to put a smile on their faces and hopefully, to make them laugh.

I now give you: The Five Stages of “Good Grief” (or “Lucy Lou’s First Time Wearing a Backpack”)

Stage 1: Denial

“If I do not see the backpack, it is not there.”

Stage 2: Anger

“How DARE you put me in this backpack! You are a bad, bad, BAAAAAAAAAAD foster mama!”

Stage 3: Bargaining

“Would you take the backpack off if I….do a headstand?”

“How about if I….give you my chew toy?”

Stage 4: Depression

“Oh! Woe is me! This pack shall be adhered to my backside for all eternity!”

Stage 5: Acceptance

“Alright, let’s go on this walk you were talking about.”

You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 Both comments and pings are currently closed.

24 Responses